.life and its surprises (we’re going to Chicago, baby!).


It was just ordinary Monday where paper work has been staked in front of my desk. I had one terrible night the day before, had an argument with my best friend, was stopped by three policemen in the middle of the night because I ran into red lights and almost got my motorbike’s seat forced open because I left the key inside the locked seat. It was silly and stupid. I was so clumsy I shouldn’t go out anywhere that Sunday night.

That night, after I took Anggie back to her place (she is the witness of all clumsy and silly moments happened that night:p), I remember I said to myself that it’s okay to go through unfortunate events sometimes, tomorrow will be a new and luckier day. I pray God it will be a better day.

I am stoked to have my day off and go on vacation to Philippines. I have had permission from my bosses and I am so ready to explore the country. I even had my bag packed already haha I have been planning this for months!! I know It would have been so amazing.

Well, my just-an-ordinary Monday turned out to be extraordinary when my boss called me to go with him to attend An Annual Seminar and Expo about Futures Trading and Options. What is extraordinary, the event took place in Chicago. Yeah, you heard it right, we’re going to USA! My heart was racing and I kept saying to myself that it’s a just a dream and that I need to wake up. I was shaking and couldn’t get over the fact that I will probably be in Chicago in less than a week. So yeah, the event itself will be on Oct 10-12, 2011. We had less than 5 days to get the visa and all the process done. That Monday, I was running here and there preparing all the requirements to apply for the visa. I went to photo studio twice just because the first one was not right. Long story short, that was a super busy day at work. So many things to be done. I don’t wanna get too excited because it’s possible that I didn’t get the visa in time.

One of many things to deal with was rescheduling my Philippines trip. I paid most of the expenses already; plane tickets and accommodation. I saved the money and reserved them all one by one when the saving is enough. The most difficult thing was telling my friends that I need a rain check about the upcoming trip.

Things just went by so quickly that week. I kept my finger crossed that I will get the visa in time. We can’t booked a flight without it. If it’s meant to be, it will be, I said it to myself and I am amazed of how things went so easy. I feel so blessed. We dropped all the documents at USA Embassy by Thursday and we got the visa on Friday. It was super quick, thanks to all the help and perseverance from my coworkers who handle this business trip. When we finally got the certainty about the flight and everything on Friday evening. I need to get my bag packed and prepare everything. We’ll be flying Monday at 00.05 am. I still need to attend A Fun Bike event with Minister of Trade on Saturday. The fun bike event was a success. I love it!

Traveling far on a short notice needs extra preparation. I need to make sure that I am ready with the material of the event and also the weather. I didn’t pack my bag until 4.5 hours before the flight. I was still looking for a baggage because I don’t have proper bag for long travel. When I went to the airport and the immigration, everything seemed so real and I realized this dream is real. It’s no longer a dream. When I looked down the plane and saw the landscape surrounding O’Hare International Airport, I wanna cry for I got so excited. Then the cabin crew greeted us and said: “Welcome to the United States of America.”

I never imagine I would have gone through so much this year, but I do believe God has plan and His plan is magnificent. Be ready to get surprised:)

Oct 19,2011

Chicago Art Museum

Cloud Gate and Millennium Park

City of Chicago at night

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Maybe next time, Seattle! | .me against the world.
  2. dearmarintan · October 28, 2011

    Baru baca ini hehehe.. terima kasih buat kartu pos dari the windy city… terima kasih juga buat kisah di baliknya, yang ternyata hanya dipersiapkan dalam waktu singkat.. padahal banyak yang bilang Visa US itu paling susah keluarnya, jadi terinspirasi buat pergi ke sana suatu hari nanti kayak Mba Nissa

    • Annisa F. Wulandari · November 16, 2011

      Intan, sorry for late reply. I read this comment a few weeks ago, but I forget to reply:( Sebenernya, kenapa bisa cepat dapat visa US karena aku pakai paspor dinas, Tan :) Sesama pemerintah, prosesnya jauh lebih mudah dan tidak dipersulit. hehe
      Kemarin aku baru urus visa untuk paspor reguler-ku. Alhmdulillah prosesnya mudah. Aku udah siapkan financial statement (ini pasti dicek sama yang mewawancarai), bukti-bukti seperti postcard dan foto-foto dari temanku yang skrg tinggal di sana, dia juga yang kirim invitation letter mengundang aku ke rumahnya dan memastikan aku dapat akomodasi di sana, pernyataan dari pihak kantor ttg berapa lama kita sudah kerja, berapa gaji kita, dan memastikan bahwa kita akan kembali setelah urusan/ jalan-jalan kita selesai, bawa juga bukti bayar pajak, surat keterangan penghasilan. Kemarin banyak yang ditolak juga permohonannya, Tan. Aku kurang tahu juga alasan penolakannya. Baca secara jelas di website-nya deh. Agak repot pengurusannya. Harus daftar online, bayar biaya visa ke bank (US$140) dan bikin janji untuk wawancara. Klo sudah di-approve, visa bisa diambil sekitar 3 hari kerja sesudah wawancara. Kalau ada yang mau ditanyakan, monggo. I’d be glad to share. Sukses ya, Tan.

Leave a Reply

